My rd - xs Purchase

Mark s

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Thought I'd start a new thread since we were starting to hijack volcomskater's craigslist thread in the classifieds.

I answered a cragslist ad this last weekend for 2 xs's. This is what I found when I checked them out:

Photo0268.jpg

I don't think the kid realized he had an rd instead of an xs. It had been given to him by his highschool shop teacher. I gladly handed him the cash we agreed on and went on my merry way. I was honestly hoping for 2 xs's so I could rob parts off the one and sell the rest to fund my bobber project. The xs does run but the intake boots are shot. The rd is stuck and I haven't had anytime to see what the exact problem is. The rd is all there except for a title. I'd love to build a cafe bike out of it, but no title is a problem and the xs comes first. I'll get a build thread going on the xs in a few weeks.

I was a trim carpenter and cabinet builder for 12 years before the economy went in the toilet. Now I farm in Northern Illinois. Since a bunch of my family have gotten into Harley's, I needed something to ride along but didn't want to pay the ridiculous amounts of money to join the harely club. So here I am. I sold my 73' rd350 several years ago and have always regretted it.

since this discussion is continued here (i didnt mind that much, but thans for being considerate;)) ill post this for the rd. now im on top of drewpy this time when he re-posts his lol

YamahaRD350.jpg

An RD400 would "smoke" a xs400 any day of the week. Also because its 2-stroke:laugh:

shit, I keep forgetting I'm not a mod on here. was going to put mine above yours :laugh:

put on an LC instead :p

LCflattracker1.jpg

yamaha_rd350_custom.jpg

yamaha-rd400.jpg

Are you sure that is a girl on the bike? I see more curves on the bike!

An RD400 would "smoke" a xs400 any day of the week. Also because its 2-stroke:laugh: