xs400 custom tank build

tbakic

1st cafe project underway
Reaction score
new updates posted !!!

my tank had a huge dent in it
photo1.jpg

i wanted a new looking tank, like an xs500 or an RD one, and a member suggested i hack up the stock one seeing as i am a welder/metal fabricator. I thought it was a great idea so here it goes!

first using a cut off wheel i removed most of the top and sides
photo2.jpg

then i used a grinder to grind down the rest of the material so i just had the bottom of the gas tank
photo3.jpg

then i used a blend pad to smooth out the edges and used scotch brite to remove the little bit of surface rust i had
photo4.jpg

here you can see the half done/not done comparison
photo5.jpg

now the fun part, designing the new tank with cardboard ;)
i wanted a boxy looking cafe-ish style, while also adding a little more capacity to the tank
photo6.jpg

photo7.jpg

photo8.jpg

this is my first design and after putting on the bike (sorry i dont have pics of it on the bike, the bike is in a garage w/o lights) i didnt quite like the design, it looks to much like a mini coffin lol. So the plan is the give the top a slight curve to it and to shorten or lower the back portion of the tank. Once i get a design i really like, import it to CAD and cut it out on a laser and start forming and tacking it all up!

stay tuned for more updates!!!!

Last edited:
cause it's made out of cardboard. ;)

YEA but he's going to line the cardboard with ALUMINUM FOIL and gasket sealant to create the perfect anti-leak tank... Gotta think ahead :laughing:

Don't worry it's not like the gas is going to eat through the sealant or anything.

While he's at it he can form plexiglass gas lines so he can see the fuel running to the carbs that would be way cool and plexiglass is sure not to break.:laugh:

UPDATE!!!