Looking for NEW Carbs.....

Swissbeats

XS400 New Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys

I'm new to the XS400 form, but not new to XS 400's.

I have an 82 Heritage Special, owned it for about 7 years, and it the second XS. First one was lost in a crash.. But i'm still here :)...

Long Story Short- I've been battling Carb and Tuning Problems for almost 2 years... I keep rebuilding, cleaning, and tuning. And just can't get the thing to run right... Fast Idle as high as 3000rpm, Slow Idle, Running Rich, Running Lean.:banghead: But it's never consistant...

Anyways i'm tired of cleaning and rebuilding and then tunning :banghead:. Albeit I'm no mechanic, but i'm no slouch to a wrench.... I would LOVE a NEW set. Don't have to be stock, but if anyone knows of a replacement> I would Owe you big time.

I decided to completely mod my XS and build a CAFE RACER as so many of you have done.. Want something that will be reliable and run.....

Any help, thoughts, or oppions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.....

You have found a great place for info! and lots of Pic, you will have to add your to the mix! As you work though different parts you have to bounce between the manual, and stuff others have done before you. Find some one with pics in the albums and see if you can find there early posts, to see their trials and tribulations. Then the bottom of the comments will show you 5 similar post based on key words. Take it one step at a time. inbetween ordering and waiting for parts to arrive, Clean scour, paint, "Think twice, cut once" Sand, paint. be patient, HAVE FUN
Tobie

..... Any help, thoughts, or oppions are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.....
Hi Swissbeats, welcome to the Forum. I hope you get the help you need.
Assuming you are south of "60" and there's still some warm riding ahead, I do have a thought which might keep you going until your re-build starts.