1977 XS360 - Carburetor Adjustment Question Regarding High Idle

got20z

1977 XS360
Reaction score
I have a '77 XS360 with stock airbox and all stock carburetors/jetting, but it has the MAC 2 into 1 exhaust.

I currently have the idle screw ran basically all the way out to where it doesn't want to idle when it's cold but when it is warm after riding it the idle likes to hang. It is to the point now of not doing it every time I pull the clutch in or stop but it does it ALMOST every time. When it does NOT do it, sometimes the RPM is still slow to drop but it will after 5 or so seconds.

I have read a lot on here and other places online for solutions and not really finding anything good. I'm no carb pro but I can usually figure things out but this has me stumped. I originally thought that the idle screw was running itself back in from vibration when the idle would hang consistent but now that it is not every time I have my doubts there.

To the experts, I was wondering if you think adjusting the needle clip down maybe 1 notch to richen it a little would benefit me any or if I should try something else?

I synced them about a week ago and the bike runs great besides this problem. It runs smooth and pulls hard through all gears. No sputtering or backfiring.

I had similar issues on an XS750 last year but it was running hardcore lean because of the exhaust AND pod filters so I had to do a lot of jetting to it to get it running more rich.

I have routed my throttle cable about 3 different ways with really no change. The cable has slack and I don't think that is my problem.

Any help appreciated.

Last edited:
My first guess was that your throttle cable is sticking. Have you tried closing the throttle at the carb by hand to see if it drops?

You could have an airleak at the carb boots, You do have the vacuum nipples block off right? Those could not be sealing properly.

I would go back to stock settings on the idle mix screws which is around 2.5 turns out.