Bike troubles....78 xs400

scooter123

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys im new to the yamaha bike thing and just picked up a 78 xs 400 that is in pretty good shape!!!!
the bike starts fine and idles great but it dies when i try to twist the throttle????

I have totally stripped the carbs and soaked them 3/4 times and blew them out with compressed air and still doing the same thing!!!!

The bike has great spark and great compression.....any info on how many turnes those two mixture screws have to be set at and how to get the sync close with out the gauges

Thanks!!!

What condition are your air filters in? Are they the original foam ones? If they are, then you have probably have some work to do...the foam is 30 years old and most likely shot.

Use the search, there are a couple of threads about air filters here.

There is a manual available for download on this site. I strongly suggest downloading it. I know there is a pic in one of them that shows how to synch close without the tool. The carbs have to be off to do it though.

Good luck with that '78. I have one too. Pics please!!!

Welcome and congrats on your new bike! The low speed mix screws on the top of the carbs should be turned out 3 - 3.5 full turns to start, then fine tuned from there. Factory setting was 1.5 turns out and is too lean. I tell you this assuming the plugs on top of the screws have been removed. Also, the VERY SMALL o-rings at the bottom of each jet deteriorate with age, leaking air and causing problems. They often stick down inside the shaft when you remove the jets and are missed by folks not familiar with them. You can purchase a new set of jets and o-rings from mikesxs.

Thanks for the help guys....when I removed all the jets fro the carbs there were no rubber o-rings to be found!!!!!
As for the air filters they are the new aftermarket ones!!!
Can someone be a little clearer on which jets have the rubber o- ring???

there are screw in jets and the back of the carb....mine has no o-ring