Bike troubles....78 xs400

Thanks oliver!!! I have another stupid question ....I know the bike is a 1978 xs400 but how do I tell if its xs400e... or what ever it is!!!

I looked for the proper float height but not sure which one to go by... hope someone can shed some light to which model this bike is!!

The vin# 2L0-102886 AND MANUFACTURE DATE IS 6/78
some pics of the bike in my album!!1

Last edited:
I've dealt with alot of downdraft and sidedraft CV Carbs on inline4 sport bikes, and usually the float setting is between 11.5mm and 16.5mm depending. If I recall correctly. I set my float on the XS400 to 12.5, because the bike is open pipe and open stacks. Im not an expert by any means. Best thing is trial by error to understand what does what, and what it affects on the rev range. The best way to tune it is 2nd gear pulls. Try this site link.
http://www.factorypro.com/tech_tuning_procedures/tuning_carbtune,CV,high_rpm_engines.html

I hope that will do the trick......One other question, if the bike idles fine but dies when on the throttle....could it be off timing???
I haven't checked the timing yet maybe something I should also take a look at!!

When trying to fix carb problems you should ALWAYS check the timing is spot-on first !!

And ALWAYS check the actual liquid level with clear tube to make sure your floats are at the proper level and they are seating properly.

Well got the new air/mix screws today and installed them in the carbs......AND STILL THE SAME PROBLEM:wtf:
Not too sure what else to do with this bike.....it idles fine......and if I pull out the choke it revs up like a bastard...so I assume the choke is working right!!!

How do I know when the carbs are in sync....I looked in the online manual and the picture is very dark and you cant seee it!!!!

I have worked on a few honda cb500 fours and honda cb750 four so im not new to the bike thing but this is my first yamaha and its getting the best of me!!!:shrug: