Bike will not stay running.

cookena69er2

XS400 Member
Reaction score
I really hope you all can help me out here, this is my first motorcycle i have ever owned and i'm a newbie when comes to working on it. I have rebuilt cars from the frame up, so i'm handy with a wrench just inexprienced.
I own a 1980 XS400G. It has 11,000 miles on it. No motor work done to it that i know of.
It was running great for the last 2 months. Then last week i decided to put premium gas thru the ol bike. I got about 4 blocks away from the gas station, and it died at a stop light. It did not want to start again. After about 30sec of cranking on it, it finally started. When i took of it was spittin and sputterin, and wanted to die. Once i got it up to speed (4000-5000rpms) it ran perfect. I Tried to take it to work the next day and it ran alright in the morning, it was a little rough running in a few spots but it did alright. When i left work it was whole different story. I had to keep the rpms up around 3000 when i was at a stop to keep it running, and when i would try to take off i had to keep the rpms above 4000 to keep it running. If someone can help please. I miss riding. :(

From what you describe I'd say you got a load of bad/dirty gas. Do you have an inline gas filter? If so you could try changing it for a new one. Otherwise I'd suggest a good carb teardown and cleaning with the installation of an inline filter afterwards.

Another possibility is a coincidental (with the fillup) failure of the petcock. Try turning the petcock to PRI and see if the bike runs normal.

I do have an inline filter, i will try and replace that and see if that doesnt help. I tried running the bike with it on PRI and RES, there wasn't any differnce.

make sure the vacuum tubing from the gas tank is hooked to the carb but it does sound like something is going on with your carbs