Caliper Question

TazzTheJynx

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have a question the front caliper. I want to get a new one, since the piston is completely rusted and refuses to budge.. I need a new caliper, or find a way to rebuild the one I have. However, I heard the calipers on these things suck anyway (and with only a single piston on mine? Or am I missing half of it?) I was debating on getting a caliper from another bike and just throwing it on there. I'm new to motorcycles in general and haven't messed with brakes before, so are there certain dimensions I need to be aware of for the caliper I buy? Or should any ol' caliper fit?

I have a 1981 xs400

You can remove tje caliper. Block the banjo hole with a properly fitting bolt and then crack the bleeder a little, attach an air hose and blow it out with compressed air.

If that doesn't work, you can also use a grease gun to squeeze the piston out.

I think that's worth a try first. If you can get it out and find that the bore of the caliper is not pitted its certainly rebuildable. You can buy new pistons and seals.

The stock caliper is more than adequate for the bike. It's not a bad design at all, and more than enough for a 30 some odd HP bike.

No caliper other than stock will just bolt on without modifications. You have to deal with the fork mounting, caliper spacing, and disc spacing.

You can use other calipers, but there is quite a bit of thought that needs to go into it. You can rig up adapters for the mount, but a bit of cnc or a bridgeport is needed to do that properly. There is also some mechanical engineering 'math' involved, and most adapters I've seen people make don't take into account the shifts in the forces on the cast fork mounts. This image should be enough to make you not want to do it-
25013644832_c253bcddce_z.jpg

Also, switching calipers usually requires finding a matching master cylinder. This page is a good reference-
http://www.vintagebrake.com/mastercylinder.htm