Custom Rewind Stator

auhenry

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey, just got my stator rewound by the guys over at Custom Rewind, looks like a very professional job and the guys were really helpful and quick with the job. All in all the charge came to 100$.
IMAG0023.jpg
IMAG0020.jpg
IMAG0021.jpg
The custom rewind guy's seperated my stator and field coil too which didn't seem like that big a deal to me.
But with changes to hardware something has to go wrong right ? :banghead:
So I tried plugging the new piece in (not attached to the rec/reg yet) to see if she would put out good voltage. The only problem is that when I turned on the bike my main fuse burned out. Tried a new fuse and the same thing happened. After that I tried unplugging the field coil and of course the headlight lit up no problem.
So I tested continuity and found I get continuity from the body ground to one of the wires running off my field coil (that and my neutral switch and oil light switch). Now I'm no expert but I don't think that should be happening. Any advise to fix the problem?

That would make sense, if the field coil went with him, to the shop.

I suspect
So I tried plugging the new piece in (not attached to the rec/reg yet) to see if she would put out good voltage. The only problem is that when I turned on the bike my main fuse burned out. Tried a new fuse and the same thing happened. After that I tried unplugging the field coil and of course the headlight lit up no problem.