Cutting the frame, swingarm ideas, electrical

brownv1

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Already did my intro in another thread but didn't post pics so here's a few. I was wondering where I could cut the frame and be ok. I'm not going to run the fender on the frame but feel like it was adding strength. I don't have a bender and can't weld so if I could cut it and not have to add a brace that would be ideal. Where I'm pointing is where I need to cut and I would mount the battery under the cross brace. I'm not a frame engineer so I'm realy hitting this blind. My next question does anyone know of an aluminum swingarm with dual shock mounts that would fit without too much hassle? If not does anyone have a stock laying around they are willing to sell? I have responded to some classifieds but got nothing back. Finaly i got the bike with some wiring foes. I have sorted them all except the fuse box. I think I have it figured out but could someone post a pic of a stock fuse box for me that would be awesome.

Attachments

• IMG_3620.JPG
    IMG_3620.JPG
    70.3 KB · Views: 161
  • IMG_3622.JPG
    IMG_3622.JPG
    68.3 KB · Views: 184
your fine to cut there, as for swing arm the radian is the choice of builders for the xs650's and should fit the 400's too!

Is it ok to cut the raised cross bar just to the right of where he is pointing?

thanks for the replies. Drewpy I was hoping you would reply to this I just checked out your build, Awesome! I was gonna ask you what battery you used it looks like the perfect size I need. I know you posted about your electrical but would that bat be good for stock wiring?

bcware,

I have seen people cut just behind the shock mount but my opinion that cross brace is for shit thats why I wrote the thread. As of now I can squeeze the frame with my hands kinda flexy in my opinion but not sure if it affects the handling or just the seat.