Detailed Build Threads ?

jmd_forest

Bldg 1980 XS400 Cafe Bike
Reaction score
Gentlemen,

I've recently acquired a 1980 XS400 that I am planning to use as the basis for a father/son cafe build project. Although I'm well experienced in auto body, painting, welding, car mechanics (I've been rebuilding high end insurance wrecks as a hobby for 25 years) and bike mechanics (engine, electrical, carbs on my 1985 XJ700), I'm seriously lacking in imagination and design skills. That is why I'm planning to mimic the 1981 XS400 at http://www.barebonerides.com/the-bikes.html. (about 3/4 way down the page)

I've searched the site a bit but haven't seem any really detailed end to end build threads that could give me a better idea of the tasks ahead of me. Although I'm willing to go it on our own, it would be nice to avoid common mistakes and make sure I don't skip steps.

Aside from the general safety (tires and brakes) and obvious aesthetics (seat, handlebars) what are some of the "gottchas" a first time cafe builder can expect in building a mild cafe racer?

Is it a given to lower the forks?
Must the frame be cut and where (usually)?
How are cable lengths shortened (MUST they be shortened)?
Is there a guide for rejetting carbs based on PODS and/or exhaust?
Are there "go to" vendors for xs400 cafe parts?

Any help you might be able to provide would be appreciated.

Hopefully this post is not so noob I get laughed off the forum.

jmd_forest

Last edited:
Always good to ask questions. Welcome to the forum and everyone here loves pics. As for a few of the questions;

Shorten cables will be needed if you have the buckhorn bars. I haven't shortened my wifes cables yet and they're working ok, tricky to route them right to not be as ugly and still work. Throttle wants to rev when I turn hard at times, clutch was sticky at times, and front brake hose flexes and isn't as strong as it could be.