First custom bike, want to learn from seniors

budiono

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi there,
this is my half-done xs400, I'm new in bike customizing, want to hear comments and suggestions from experienced people like you are. Thank you.

Attachments

• half done.jpg
    half done.jpg
    249 KB · Views: 434
Nice bike I like the looks of it. What is holding your battery on the side there, it looks like an interesting relocation idea. A few more pics would be cool as well!

Welcome

looks like the battery is partially abscured by the motor plate. frames not stock. single backbone and double down tube lead me to believe its a 650 frame? looks really good man. what are those wheels afoo of? reminds me a a yamaha radian or something

yeah looks like a 650 frame, cool rear motor mounts.. could use some speed holes though.

i like the underside curve of the tank, makes the bike look really modern and with those wheel combo :thumbsup:

can u take some pics of whats going on with the exhaust? looks cool

Hello, thank you so much for your kind and encouraging comments, you guys
are really nice. Let me tell you a bit of the bike's story : It starts with an idea
of creating my "dream bike" using my 3D designing software, while my knowledge
about custom bikes is almost none. Seeing the design result, a friend offered me
an xs400 which was customized already, but in an old-school style (correct me
if I'm wrong). Then I thought that with some further modifications, it could get
a quite similar proportion and "posture" (can't find a proper word for this) to
my 3D bike.
So I started with the wheels, it is an aftermarket wheel (cheap wheels, made in Taiwan
or even Indonesian local made). I had to buy two sets : 17" and 18".
Then I carved a styro-foam block for the tank's mock up, and let a tank-maker to
imitate it. I also replaced the engine mounting plates (speedholes idea from FUBAR sounds cool, thanks! I'll think about this).