first post, first bike, first rebuild

Konck

Konck
Reaction score
Hi everyone

My name is Phillip and I'm from a city called Port Elizabeth in South Africa. I'm currently a Mechanical engineering student who has a little place in my heart for classic bike, though I have never owned one myself.

While browsing a local classifieds website, I came across this 1980 XS400 Special. I came across XS400.com and have been growing in confidence thanks to all the help available here. I browsed the forums with the VIN and confirmed its a 1980. The photos are what the seller sent me as I didn't take my own when I went to look at it.

The first thing I checked was the Vin on both the motor and the frame... BONUS! both match which tells me that this bike isn't accident damaged. :thumbsup: According to the seller the bike drove great until the motor started running oval. He then removed the motor and decided to dissemble the bike for a completely new paint job. According to him all the parts are there except the battery, head and cylinder....:shrug:

The motor turns and everything seems in okay to fairly good shape. He's looking for about 2000 Rand, which equals to about US$175.

I want to know if some of you could give me an indication if this is a suitable project to take on for me. I'm very mechanically inclined, but on a limited budget. I've also never worked on motorcycles, but did some work on cars. I'm looking to get it running so that I can use it as a daily driver.

Sorry for the poor quality photos. The assembled bike is when the po got it.

Any suggestions, tips and tricks would be awesome!!

Attachments

• 20090705-1717619-1980-Yamaha-XS400.jpg
    20090705-1717619-1980-Yamaha-XS400.jpg
    216.5 KB · Views: 99
  • IMG-20150227-WA0000.jpg
    IMG-20150227-WA0000.jpg
    130.5 KB · Views: 72
  • IMG-20150227-WA0001.jpg
    IMG-20150227-WA0001.jpg
    160.8 KB · Views: 85
  • IMG-20150227-WA0002.jpg
    IMG-20150227-WA0002.jpg
    147 KB · Views: 79