First post! My Cafe Project

cthor

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I'm a Graduate student and needed something to do to get my mind away from school! I've been building cars for years now and as I was browsing through Craigslist the other day, I came upon this 1978 Yamaha XS400 for $400. It was not running. I've never messed with carburetor based motors before and wanted to learn. I picked her up because she turn over and all. Took her home, immediately checked for spark and she had some.

I changed the plugs and took the carbs out yest. Researched a but about carbs and cleans them up along with rejetting them. Carbs were pretty filthy so I kind of figured this was the problem. Installed every and behold, started on first crank!

Now for the diagnostics that everyone hates.

She idles fine but when she gets hot, the idle starts to die down and eventually kills the bike. I raised the idle screw and the idle was good for a bit but symptoms returned, so today I set the timing statically, and she idles great now. Between 1200-1500. I took her around for a ride around town and she's a keeper! She runs great. Even did a highway run and got her to max out at 70mph, about 6500-7000 rpms in 6th gear. This normal?

I knew I shouldnt have but I checked the compression. SMH...The left cylinder has a compression of 100 and the right 120. The manual says should be 140-170. Normally this would be a huge deal but the bike runs great, what do you guys think? After that, I noticed that there was more backfiring coming from the left exhaust and the exhaust flow was not as smooth as the right. Kind of a blep blep blep.