Fuel Filter replacment Help. New

xamnay

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi there

My name is Yannick and i am new to motorcycles along with their repair

My 1980 xs400 is having trouble starting and if i can get it started (usually with a push start) the engine dies after i pull the clutch in or stop pulling on the throttle.

After consulting my owners manual i figure the bike is being starved of fuel because of a clogged fuel filter.

Could any one walk me through the replacement or cleaning of the fuel filter? i don't even know what to buy right now i'm looking at this site for parts http://www.mikesxs.net/products-112.html (if you scroll down to the bottom there are three different types of fuel filters. I'm not sure witch one to buy)

The manual is not vary clear about how to replace the fuel filter its about a three paragraph segment that basically just says. "replace and clean the fuel filter"

Hope you guys can help.

-Yannick

You can remove it from the petcock and rinse it with a petroleum solvent and a cloth. I would also highly recommend installing an inline fuel filter. I've never seen an OEM petcock filter replacement, so try to keep the one you have. Mine has a hole at the bottom so I had to install an inline. Inspect your filter carefully as anything larger than half a millimeter running past your filter can ruin your carb jets.

thanks for the reply Richmond. What is an inline fuel filter and is the installation challenging?
Hi. Welcome to the Forum.
Here is a good "how-to" which was put up by another new rider. I followed it with success. I bought the filter from the local bike shop (less than $3) and a length of spare line from the auto-supply store (less than $1).
http://www.xs400.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7574

doesn't an inline fuel filter kinda slowdown the flow of fuel causing it to heat up and evaporate. creating less performance?