Help please bike shuts off while riding

Riddellw1

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to this thread and I have a generally good idea on how to maintain XS400's. I have a 1982 motorcycle, it has no customizations OTHER THEN new handle bars.

So I'll be riding it, and randomly, literally randomly, any gear any speed or idle, it shuts off.
When I say shuts off I mean the engine just turns off, slows to a stop and throttle doesn't work. I know this isn't a fuel or air or combustion problem because of how sudden the shut off is.

When it does turn off, it WILL NOT turn back on for at least two or three minutes. After that, it starts right back up perfectly fine, and drives perfectly fine up until it shuts off again. As far as I know, the lights turn off but I just have to turn the key off and back on and then the lights are fine and the neutral light and oil light are back on.

Another annoying thing, is that it will go a couple of days where it DOES NOT STALL WHATSOEVER. I'll drive it for hours, no problem, wake up the next day, drive all day, no problem, wake up the next day, and it shuts off while riding.

What I have tried to do to fix this, I've checked the voltages of the battery and ignitor, they're both good, I've tightened the terminals, they do seem to be a little rusty but I'm not sure if that's vital to the battery running. I've taken apart the right handle bar and looked at the killswitch on the inside and saw the two little silver contacts and they seemed to be clean. I've taken the ignition coils out and looked at them, not much else I could do with those but since my spark is perfectly fine on both plugs I doubt it's them

I have taken the safety relay out for the kickstand switch, and the bike still stalls. So I do know that it is NOT the kickstand safety thing.

If anybody can help me that would be awesome, I just want to be able to ride my bike again without worrying about it stranding me out in the road. Thanks!