Help rebuilding twin carbs

EJ8TrapKing

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'm very new to motorcycles, but have mechanical experience with hondas so my question is how hard is it to rebuild carbs on my 81 xs400sh? I never messed with two carbs before. I just need warnings and caution before I actually mess it up.

We have a nice little function here on this site,Its called a search feature:DIll answer the question vaguely,These carbs are very simple to work and easy to work on.:)

Buy a manual, read the carb section over a couple times. It's best to rebuild them one at a time (always leaving one carb complete). Also, do it in a space where nobody will move anything around. Some of the parts are tiny and next to impossible to find if you lose them. Take your time, the worst thing to do is try and rush it... you'll only end up doing it over.

There is a very detailed carb cleaning/rebuilding thread on xjbikes.com for the carbs on the XJ series bikes that I used the first time I cleaned the carbs on my XJ700. They are similar enough to the XS400 carbs that I used it again when cleaning the XS400 carbs for the first time. I know there a few decent cleaning/rebuilding threads on this site but the xsbikes.com guide has great detail for a first timer.

I know it was a noob question, but thanks for the help and support. i'll start the process and keep you guys updated. thanks again

i took apart the carbs and looked inside. the guy who had the bike before me said he rebuilt one carb but not the other. It looks like he put the left side floater on backwards. so I flipped it around and cleaned it a lil n put it all back together. heres a picture. my question is does it make a difference? I havent ran it yet cuz its night time but will in the morning.

Attachments

• IMG_1100.jpg
    IMG_1100.jpg
    227.3 KB · Views: 122
  • IMG_1102.jpg
    IMG_1102.jpg
    201.5 KB · Views: 125
  • IMG_1101.jpg
    IMG_1101.jpg
    188 KB · Views: 134