i hate my XS

jigm400

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I put new blinkers on this weekend they look "SICK" but they dont flash, ordered a new electronic flash relay. got that today and they still dont flash F my life. now to top it off my Headlight stopped working and i cant figure it out. double F my life. i guess this will be the begining of a tear down and rebuild of my electrical thead. :wtf:

Oh....dont say that...but I understand. Ouch.

If you really have to rebuild and rewire that is a big project. I just built a new wiring harness.

I'm a newbie so don't take my advice as gospel but here's what I did. My method worked very well. I found the appropriate wiring diagram. Taped big sheets of white paper to my kitchen table. Then I wrote down the names of the components on the paper in the order they appear on the wiring diagram. Then I removed the wiring harness from my bike, labeling each clip and wire as I went. Then I clipped the wiring harness clips (and any male/female connectors) off the harness (with leads that were plenty long!!) and taped them to the appropriate place on the kitchen table.

Then, on my wiring diagram, I labeled each fuse (1,2,3,4) and memorized the circuits according to that numbering system. Then I memorized everything again.

I procured wire, (7 different colors) solder and plenty of heat shrink. I did experiments with many and various connectors but in the end I decided to solder everything because I couldn't find connectors that didn't suck. You might be able to reuse the wire, but I chose to upgrade to 16 gauge, whereas the original wire on my bike was 18 gauge. I'd like to give BIG BIG BIG shout out to Paul at World Class Wire and Cable in Waukesha WI, ( a wire factory) who provided me with free samples of their 16 gauge automotive wire--saving me a bundle of money.