Its Official!!! New Owner

Romeo2589

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Its official guys! Im a new owner of a 1982 xs400. Got it on a trade. All in all I think it is in pretty decent shape for a project bike. Not all hope is lost.. unless I completely screw up somewhere down the road:doh: Ive got some pictures up and from the looks of it its gonna be a killer job for me. All of it because... dun dun dunnn... this is my first project EVER!!!! Im still excited about it!!! Let me know what you all think and any pointers for anything at all is well appreciated!!!:thumbsup:

Attachments

• IMG_1091.jpg
    IMG_1091.jpg
    122.7 KB · Views: 339
  • IMG_1165.jpg
    IMG_1165.jpg
    63 KB · Views: 342
  • IMG_1295.jpg
    IMG_1295.jpg
    94.1 KB · Views: 362
  • IMG_1773.jpg
    IMG_1773.jpg
    67.9 KB · Views: 330
  • IMG_2164.jpg
    IMG_2164.jpg
    73.4 KB · Views: 381
  • IMG_2233.jpg
    IMG_2233.jpg
    88 KB · Views: 397
  • IMG_2765.jpg
    IMG_2765.jpg
    99.1 KB · Views: 362
  • IMG_3308.jpg
    IMG_3308.jpg
    75.5 KB · Views: 342
  • IMG_3510.jpg
    IMG_3510.jpg
    113.9 KB · Views: 333
  • IMG_4062.jpg
    IMG_4062.jpg
    70.3 KB · Views: 334
  • IMG_5316.jpg
    IMG_5316.jpg
    68.3 KB · Views: 325
  • IMG_5454.jpg
    IMG_5454.jpg
    107.8 KB · Views: 332
Looks cool. Nice little maxim. I have a question though. Whats going on with the rear shock did they just take the spring out and use it to make it a hard tail?

One pointer I have for you, if you already didnt know is that you have a dohc motor and from what I have read on here very few parts are interchangeable with sohc motor, so just keep that in mind when you order parts.

Also if you havent downloaded the manual, you can find it in the first thread on the forum page. you want the one that is for a 1983 seca. No your bike is not a seca, but the secas and maxims are the same besides control placement, tank shape, front wheel size, and the seca has a 6 speed vs a 5 speed maxim.