mr hamburger & his '83 maxim

hamburger

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm from Toronto and I'm a professional paramedic. My other interests include beer, whiskey, tattoos, fish/aquariums, travel, food, comics, hockey & fitness/athletics.

I've just entered the world of motorcycles and this is my first bike. It may have been on here before me, I'm not sure. I picked it up a couple weeks ago and it seems to run well. starts easily, shifts easily, lights all work. I'm gonna wait another month or so to plate and insure it so I can get to the next step in my license and get a significant drop in my insurance rate.

I have an interest in modifying this bike but as I mentioned this is my entry point to motorcycles and my knowledge base on the subject is minimal. Also, I live in an apartment building and park in an underground garage. I certainly don't mind taking things apart or working down there but I'm not going to be welding or fabricating anything down there (not that I have any experience with that anyways (but I'd like to learn :D)). I plan on making that jump when I have a garage of my own.

I think I would like to get a cafe look and feel out of this bike but i'm not entirely sure where to start. I plan on doing plenty more reading and researching but I would certainly welcome any input and suggestions.

see you around

Attachments

• IMG_2086.jpg
    IMG_2086.jpg
    281.7 KB · Views: 314
  • IMG_2087.jpg
    IMG_2087.jpg
    257.4 KB · Views: 305
  • IMG_2088.jpg
    IMG_2088.jpg
    276.5 KB · Views: 297
  • IMG_2089.jpg
    IMG_2089.jpg
    302 KB · Views: 321
That is a nice, clean ride. I honestly think it looks great as is. I'd ride it for a while and feel it out before making any modifications. Start with the basic maintenance and checks. Download a service manual from the sticky.