New In the PNW!

BedsideTiger

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Greetings Everyone! Bear with me as I am new to Yamaha's and motorcycles in general. So let's begin shall we? Today I left my house to drive 2 hours to south Seattle to pick up a 1980 Honda CB750, only to get a txt from the guy saying that his wife sold the bike the night before.:mad: So my friend and I stopped at a local Cabela's shopped around for a bit and went on craigslist. I didn't want the UHaul trailer I rented to go to waste. Found a 1982 Yamaha XS400 for sale for $500. Called the guy in the store and turns out the bike was just right across the freeway! We headed over there and took a look. He also had a 1980 Yamaha XS1100 for $200. So what the hell I bought both and spent less than I originally planned to spend.:laugh: Anyway got them home safely and now to start tearing the XS400 apart and cleaning it and making sure the engine runs before I start the full cafe build. I do have a couple questions to start with, for some reason stock looks like the seat is set way too low and the tank too high to have the proper Cafe lines. From pictures the stock tank is almost never used. What tanks do people run on these things? I wouldn't mind bigger tanks, just mean more possible places to hide electronics. Secondly what online stores can I search for performance/maintenance/OEM parts? What other bikes are great for upgrades? I come from a VW background so I'm used to the forum life and the fact that most cases one VW part fits most :laugh:. Thanks for looking and for any advice you give to a new person. I do have a great custom cafe builder here in town so I guess I should chat him up a bit too. Here is a picture of my new bike

Attachments

• IMG_20150524_194559.jpg
    IMG_20150524_194559.jpg
    304.2 KB · Views: 237