New member here from SoCal (Ventura)

sly409

XS400 Addict
Reaction score
Hey folks,

My name is Scott and I'm a new proud owner of a blue 1979 xs400. I purchased it yesterday (8/1/12) and went back with a trailer to pick it up today. Got a pretty good deal for it ($700) with clean title and claimed to have 9500miles on it. The bike seems to be running fine but needs the carbs cleaned for sure.

I joined this forum so in hopes that I can learn a thing or two about my bike. I plan on fixing it up to use as my daily rider for work and school and eventually turning it into a modern cafe racer after I do all the regular maintenance. I know the last time this thing was registered was back in mid 2009 so I'm guessing its just been sitting unused since then if not longer. I'm eager to learn so I'll take any advice you guys throw at me.

A little about me. I'm 30 years old, I work as a waiter and I'm going back to school to finish up my degree. I've never worked on bikes before but I've done a little work on cars. Oil changes, fluid changes in the transmission and brake lines etc. Oh and I've helped a buddy replace a radiator on his car before but again, nothing major. I bought this bike as a fun little side project. My last job involved working with airsoft guns and repairing gearboxes and such so I'm somewhat mechanically inclined but bikes are completely foreign to me at this point. I got my M1 about 5-6 years ago and just never got a bike. I guess i never really knew what I wanted and then my life got a little busy and I forgot about it. Now I'm working very close to home and my school is close also(5 and 15mins away) and I'm letting my fiance use my suv to goto work since her car broke down so I needed to find something cheap to get me here and there. I started looking on craigslist for cars but nothing good came up then I decided to check out the motorcycles and of the 3 ads I was interested in, the one for the xs400 was the only one that didnt fall through.