Noob needs a manual, some advice

Mannix

Mannix
Reaction score
Hey folks, I am an absolute beginner so do not think you will insult my intelligence by being super clear; I bought a 1983 Yamaha XS400 Maxim 3days ago. The first time I rode a bike was 4days ago, so you see what we're working with. I've always wanted a bike, for gas efficiency, enhancing my cool points, and I just spent some time on a scooter and knew I needed more power!

This bike seems to have been well maintained, but I don't know much about it. The Previous Owner was a 17yo kid only had it for 4 months. It runs well, feels good; like a good bike to start/learn on.

1.) MANUAL- Does anyone have the ACTUAL manual for this bike? It seems everyone has the years before, but not this actual manual. I've seen a thread on here with lots of PDFs but none for the '83 Maxim. What is the best substitute if the manual is truly MIA? this appears to be the cover of the correct manual
%2783%20Yamaha%20Manual%20cover

2.) I don't know what has been done to this bike, and it seems to run pretty fine. What do you suggest I start with in terms of verifying it's condition? Oil change? Clean the Carbs I've heard so much of? Check the brakes? Check the "petcock"? Also, what is a petcock?

3.) Is there a book someone could suggest to supplement whatever manual I get? I've been looking at this Essential Guide to Motorcycle Maintenance by Mark Zimmerman.

Pics of my sweet bike below, thanks!

IMAG0498.jpg

IMAG0499.jpg

IMAG0500.jpg

IMAG0501.jpg

I've always wanted a bike, for gas efficiency, enhancing my cool points, and I just spent some time on a scooter and knew I needed more power!

This bike seems to have been well maintained, but I don't know much about it. The Previous Owner was a 17yo kid only had it for 4 months. It runs well, feels good; like a good bike to start/learn on.