pilot jet stuck,really stuck !

sbondoni

i did it 1 piece@a time
Reaction score
i was disassembling the carbs to clean and adj.floats(this is my first try) with help from bcware HD video link(LOL) thanks tho that helped a ton ! but i noticed PO must of had trouble with the left side pilot jet cause it looked a little tore up and i couldnt get it to break loose . boy those brss jest r soft ! wasnt much i could do so i taped a groove in the head to get some better leverage and it broke mloose but now i cant get it to fall out !!!! so i tried to dig it out .....nope the head is now totaly mangled and will not come out ! what the F should i do ????????

Wait, so it's loose, but won't come out? It spins freely?
right round baby right round ! for the most part i have managed to hack the top of the jet up to the point it does turn (freely) then it will get stuck and will stop spinning like it is out of the threads but cause of the mangled top will not come out ?

Can you grip it with tweezers? Sounds like the threads may be stripped...

tried a very tiny set of needle nose pliers but no go i think is really jamed and yes stripped (looks like it went thu the garbage disposal:doh: )i really dont know what to do at this point ?????

Well, if it's stripped, then you need new carbs (and next time, add penetrating oil first, then try to remove.)

However, bygones are bygones. If you've screwed them up already, then no harm in still trying other things. If you can get the screw out, you may still be able to rethread the carb body if you have a tap and die set with the right size (very small) tap.

So, if I were you, I would go back to a screwdriver. Turn the screwdriver lefty-loosy with no downward force at all. Keep at it, and hope it catches.