Smoke from engine

Taras

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
First of all, I am a total novice on bike mechanics but with an incredible urge to learn everything there is about this cute little thing. Something tells me either that or lay of half of my salary to pay off a mechanic :)

I've had some problems starting my bike lately so after alot of research on this excellent forum and troubleshooting I came to these 2 conclusions:

1. Faulty petcock, no fuel is reaching the carbs. If i turn it to prime the fuel flows but not on reserve or on. I ordered petcock rebuild kit, replaced the o-ring and the rubber diapragm, assembled everything back but it leaks like hell from a small hole on the side of the square plastic gasket. Also, the fuel is flowing constantly, doesnt matter if it is on prime or on. Could I have assembled it incorrect?

2. The fuel was overflowing and leaking out of my air filter box. I removed the carburators, took them apart and the float was stuck. While I was at it I cleaned out all the jets and sprayed everything out with compressed air. Everything seems to be fine now.

Put everything together, after a while the engine started but after a couple of seconds some smoke came from the right side, I couldn't really see exactly where it came from. Then the engine died. Also, the right exhaust was very hot compared to the left one.

What could that be?

Appreciate the answers!

What year bike do you have? Has it ever ran consistently? When you bought it what work did you do on it. ie. spark plugs, wires and caps, points and timing if 79 or older?
If you have the proper petcock rebuild kit it shouldn't be leaking. You may want to take it apart again, check for tears in the diaphragm, or proper assemblly, or get a manual petcock as discussed in an earlier thread. Your left cylinder probably isn't firing.
Download the manual from the tech section. Start there.

Hey I'm a newb but :