Splitting Crankcase WITHOUT removing cylinders and top end.

BigMacDouble

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey there ,

this might be a pretty dumb question. As you might notice from my other posts I’m pretty new to the world of motorcycles.

I got a little too hasty and joined the crankcases before I had my hands on a torque wrench . Only after I had the entire engine finished did I remember I left the big end bearing bolts completely loose since I was going to tighten them when I got the wrench.

I’d prefer not to take the entire thing apart again . I’m thinking if I split it the crank will lift off with the top and cylinders and I can access the bolts . Am I missing something that makes this impossible? Or could this lead to damage maybe from the cam chain holding the weight of the crank?

Any advice would help!

Attachments

• 183415A1-80CD-45C3-B58B-954003AE0C8D.jpeg
    183415A1-80CD-45C3-B58B-954003AE0C8D.jpeg
    138.6 KB · Views: 154
You can generally do it but not like you say. Not dead sure on that engine type but be sure to loosen any case bolts that go in from the top first then flip engine upside down. The cylinders will prop it up at an easy to get to angle and you loosen bottom case and pull the THAT off leaving most everything still in place.

It gets done all the time.

You can generally do it but not like you say. Not dead sure on that engine type but be sure to loosen any case bolts that go in from the top first then flip engine upside down. The cylinders will prop it up at an easy to get to angle and you loosen bottom case and pull the THAT off leaving most everything still in place.

It gets done all the time.
Its a 1978 xs400E

What would i need to remove besides the side casings? I can leave the clutch intact? Or the kickstart?