starting issues (Won't start once engine warm)

pIatipus

XS400 Member
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to bikes and am learning as I go.

Bought the bike at the end of December and haven't had the opportunity to get it going until now, with the warm weather and all. It was running in December when I got it and I could start it with the kick start. When I replaced the spark plugs, the right plug was dark, suggesting it was running rich. Also, it idled at low rpms, to the point that it would shut off idling. A friend helped me adjust the idle rpms and the fuel/air mixture so that it was running leaner. From that point, the bike was running and would start when warmed or from a cold start. I didn't have a battery tender, so I removed the battery and kept it inside from mid January until late February.

The bike floods easily. When the bike was starting "normally", it would start on the first kick or two. Any thing past 4 kicks and the engine would flood. (Vacuum petcock is set to on)

Now, its hard to start with kick start (xs400-2e, so no electric start). I can get a running start, and the engine will turn.
Yesterday it started with the running start. Today, it turned over, but didn't quite start. One kick and it started easily.

This is where it gets interesting. Took it for a short spin, maybe a mile or two, 5 minutes.
Once warmed (10 minutes), then turned off, it won't start again, both running start or kick start. This happened today and yesterday.

Yesterday, after the short run, I checked out the spark plugs, and the right plug was dark again. I cleaned up the plug with emory cloth.
Its worth noting that since its replacement in December, the bike really hasn't been run (as it was winter). Maybe a few hours of running time, tops.

Battery has sufficient CCAs and appropriate 12 volts available.

I'm looking for two things. The first (and biggest) is why won't it start when its warm?