Turn signal issue

kevinsmith1517

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I had just figured out my electrical and i have my turn signals on a toggle (on-off-on). They were working just fine and then I put LED lights in them; now when I flip the toggle either way all four turn on. What can I do to get them to go back to being just one side?

This is how I got it.
1966829_10204565549766040_3200451085669040346_n.jpg
[/IMG]

The attached photos are what I'm working with now, none of them show my issue. Just wanted to show you guys since i have been trolling on the forum for a few months now.

Attachments

• IMG_20150209_190132279.jpg
    IMG_20150209_190132279.jpg
    199.4 KB · Views: 272
  • IMG_20150208_211603729.jpg
    IMG_20150208_211603729.jpg
    174.3 KB · Views: 269
  • IMG_20150207_220146527.jpg
    IMG_20150207_220146527.jpg
    162.4 KB · Views: 240
  • Snapchat--7663686294277763532.jpg
    Snapchat--7663686294277763532.jpg
    226.1 KB · Views: 263
  • Snapchat--4722598257441598702.jpg
    Snapchat--4722598257441598702.jpg
    186.8 KB · Views: 271
Typically this is caused by the circuit backfeeding to all lights through the turn signal indicator light on your handlebars.
It's hard to see what you have left for indicator lights on your instruments. If you only have one light that flashes rather than a separate left and right light you'll need to isolate the circuits by adding diodes.

There should be a few existing threads on here that deal with the procedure. The search function should bring them up.

Great looking bike. Here's a potentially easy fix: if the weird behavior started with the addition of LEDs, there may not be enough load on the circuit to trip the stock signal relay. You can try replacing it with an LED-specific relay and see if that solves your problem.