What exactly is the function of the stock H-Tubes?

blabla

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am looking into buying some aftermarket air filters. I am really new to this and do not know all that much about the carb. stuff. I understand that most aftermarket air intakes and filters require upjetting, but from what I understand, this also has something to do with whether or not the factory H-tubes are still used? If I kept the h-tubes, is up-jetting still required?

It depends on the filters you get. I would go with a set of foam uni filters that take oil. They will filter well and the mikuni cv carbs work well with them. I have been doing a bit of research on crank case venting into these h-pipes and what it does is cause a negative and positive pressure in the engine (also re-burns un-burnt gases). The pressure also controls foaming of the oil under higher rpms and keeps the oil where it needs to be.

Oh okay…that's interesting. Thank you very much for the response. So do you think the UNI filters with the h-tubes would require an up-jet?

If you get pod air filters, some kinds have an inner lip which can block off one of the air passages on your carbs if you leave out the H-tube. That will make the bike run like cr*p. Some pods don't have this lip and can be mounted directly.

And as Chris said, the crankcase vent can go into the H-tube which is nice. Any oil fumes from your crankcase (it spits out some fumes if your oil pressure gets too high) will be routed into the carbs and subsequently into your combustion chambers. This tiny bit of oil theoretically lubricates your carbs a little, and as the fumes are combustible they could potentially lower your fuel consumption just a tad. Then again, it is quite an uncontrollable, irregular addition of combustible fumes so if you ask me that isn't gonna help any. I believe GTIDave has had trouble with very smelly fumes around his bike when he ran pods without the H-tube.