XS400 Front and rear master cylinder

joey13091

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone I have purchased new brake lines, rebuilt the master cylinder on the front and rear, and rebuilt/cleaned both calipers.

I have a few questions. What is the best way to fill the brakes from totally empty? Is the syringe fill from the bleeder screw my best bet?

Also question about the front master cylinder. In the resovoir is there supposed to be two holes? There is one clearly that you see the piston moving through it. Then there is a divot next to it. It looks like there is supposed to be a hole but there doesn't appear to be one. I've scraped it out and tried putting small pins through and there seems to be no hole.

Sorry for the dumb questions I'm still learning how to work on this stuff. Thank you in advance for any replies.

Okay so I got the rear master cylinder bled by putting the other end of the brake line in the reservoir and that did the trick for the rear. They work great now.

I'm having trouble with the front master cylinder. When I push in the piston and let go it spits the fluid out the hole in the reservoir. Does anyone know what the issue could be. I just rebuilt it.

Both my masters were toast so I went aftermarket. Not even sure what the factory one looks like. I am sure someone will chime in soon hopefully.....

Good luck with it and hello from another Washingtonian :thumbsup: