Yamaha xs 400 dohc

Fred

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

My name is Frédéric, i'm from belgium.
I'm an Airplane technician for the belgium militairy. But my passion is bike's.
Just finished my first project ever.

It's à yamaha xs400 12e dohc.

I rebuild the engine and respray'd everything. I changed all the bearings and tires. I have documented the complete disassembly and assembly.

I'll post pictures asap.

Just have 1 issue left, and that's when i change gears, up or down is the same.
The engine pulls to the left...
Do i need to adjust the clutch? Or is my problem elswhere?

uploadfromtaptalk1460895388802.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1460895401305.jpg

nice bike, check your rear wheel alignment and then check your fork to see if they are bent or twisted.
can't think of any other reason for it to slew to one side

I'll rechek the fork and the alignment. But the strange thing is when i Let the steering go while driving, the Bike go's perfectly straight. It only occurs when i shift...

Sorry to say but I don't think your transmission would cause your bike to veer either way. My first thought is your swing arm bushings but they've been replaced. Is it at all possible that there's a hidden crack somewhere on your rear swing arm or rear pivot point that would open up some on acceleration?? Possibly a broken weld?? I'd also suggest a weak shock but I think yours has a monoshock. It's not easy some times to inspect all those nooks & crannies around weld joints but It's also a safety issue when it's a suspension component. Just had a second thought. What shape is your front fork in?? It might be a Long Shot but worth a look if the fork tubes & sliders were badly worn on your fork legs couldn't that cause some yaw left or right?? Just trying to brain storm for you a little. Good luck Friend and Be Safe. It seems the Military from Nations considered Friendly to America are also under attack from Terror groups. Also Keep them Flying!