New to Motorcycling and looking for some advice

darcymhanna

XS400 New Member
Reaction score
First off, hi. I'm new to riding motorcycles. I've been a passenger for many years, but last month I finally went out and got my license! Sorry if my questions seem uneducated, but I've got a lot to learn.

I'm looking at buying my first bike and I'm excited about the XS400.

There is a guy in my city selling a 1978 XS400 for $3000. From the research I've done this seems VERY high.

He bought the bike last year from a guy in the states who converted it to a cafe racer. He claims to have put on new tires, carbs and handle bars. He hasn't ridden it since last summer unit a week ago, but says it's running and ready to ride. Stored inside at a local motorcycle club. Needs a horn and fork seals. About 1900 kilometers (1180 miles). Has all the papers.

Here is a link to his ad:

http://vancouver.en.craigslist.ca/van/mcy/3795294380.html

Is there any reason this bike should cost what he's asking? I realize he probably sank some cash into the bike putting on new tires, most sales I've seen go for less than $1000. Anyway, I'd really appreciate some advice on price and general things to be aware of if I buy an XS400.

Thanks in advance!

Wiith it being riding season you wont get as good of deal as in the off season but they can be found in good condition for around $800 and less stock.
I NOTICE THEY GUY IS RUNNING EMGO POD FILTERS.That just lowered the value by a couple of thousand.
Welcome here.
As for things to check look at the wiring,tires,oil and underneith the seat where the battery box is.Look for major sprocket wear also.Also know that these bikes dont make good hiway cruisers,they are very light and you will get blown off the road.
Im sure some other guys will chime in and fill in a few more details.

Hi and welcome. $3,000? Maybe if it was an all-original, absolutely mint show winner. It's not?