Specs for replacing clutch plates and springs?

wirehairs

XS400 Addict
Reaction score
I haven't found the minimum specs for the clutch spring length or clutch plate thickness for my 82 Maxim (XS400J). Could someone share that with me?

This is my first time changing a clutch. The clutch was slipping; I could be in 1st gear with the clutch handle out, and the bike wasn't moving. I need to look at the plates closer, but I didn't see any obvious warping of the disks or burn marks. I understand to place the metal plates on a flat surface to look for warping. I admit to being unsure when a clutch cable adjust will fix a particular issue over replacing the plates.

The bike has 15K miles on it, and I assume the clutch has never been replaced.

Thanks for the input!

First adjust the clutch properly to see if that fixes your problem. To do this, look at the left side of the bike and you'll see a black plug that will pop out on the cover that says yamaha yikes. Pop that black cover off and loosen the nut, then go to your clutch lever and screw in the adjustment knob (this will put slack into the cable) then go back to the side of the motor and screw the adjuster in until you feel resistance. When you feel it, back the screw off about 1/4 to 1/2 turn. After that screw that lock nut back down and replace the black cap then adjust your clutch lever to allow 2-3mm of slack. Then fire her up and see if that fixed the problem, if not then refer to the owners manual on how to replace the clutch. It's a fairly easy component to repair or replace but take your time and make sure it's done right the foray time otherwise you'll be taking it apart again soon. The manuals are found on the sticky and you can use the ones on thread #3 for the DOHC.

The oils is already drained out, so at this point, I'd like to measure my plates and spring. So, I still need those specifications, and I don't see them in the manuals I've downloaded online.