1977 Jet Sizing

Mantis Toboggan

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

Newbie here. I'm getting ready to do my first ever carb clean/tune/sync and need some advice on jet sizes and compatibility. I recently acquired a 1977 XS400D (Mikuni BS34) which came with pods but still has the stock exhaust. After spending countless hours over the past week reading the tech articles and postings on this site (which is amazing!), I believe I need to increase the main jet size to 147.5 from the stock 142.5, although I am not 100% sure. Can anyone tell me for certain what jet size is required and if any other jets would need to be increased?
As far as main jet availability, I've looked through mikesXS.com and haven't been able to find much. Are the early 80's xs650 jets compatible? Are the carbs between the early 80's xs400 and xs650 compatible with the 1977 xs400? Is there another trusted site where I can find jets and other parts?

Thanks in advance!

Hi and welcome! we like pics around here :)

The combination pods + open exhausts usually requires about 2 sizes up on mains, 1 on the pilot jets. But with only pods, you may be able to still get your mixture right by adjusting the carbs, or going up 1 size on the main jets, or 1 on the main and 1 on the pilots. But there is no way to be sure because it depends on a whole bunch of parameters including your altitude, what kind of pods, how your float level is set, any tiny leaks in the carbs or exhausts, in what state your baffles are, etc etc

only way to really tell is to pull your plugs and read them. Then adjust with the idle mixture screws, figure out your performance in higher revs (just try and feel) and if you need more adjustment change your jet sizes. It's a trial and error process.