Another question. H4 headlight

Rumpelhardt

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have a new headlight coming that has a 60/55 watt H4 bulb. Anything else I need to get to make it work on my bike? Relays, wiring, etc? I've never worked on a motorcycle before so this is turning into quite an adventure.

You can just use it as is, the plug should mate up.

You could go as far as to change the stock wiring and run your own spst relays to get more brightness out of the light, but its quite involved and not an easy task if you've never messed with wiring before.

other than being a pain in the posterior wiring isn't a big problem. I've built and raced cars for years so I've had a fair amount of experience with it. The biggest thing is that having never dealt with motorcycles before I'm not sure how far the stock charging system can be pushed so I'm a little worried about overloading it.

Expect the new headlight to dim at idle, when the brakes are applied, or the turn signals flash.

Consider spending more $ on a quality HID conversion, or an LED bulb. There are some new H4 LED bulbs that actually work well. Phillips makes a DOT certified bulb, but they are silly expensive. There are bulbs on the 'Bay for around $70US that work well. 35-40W so they don't draw too much and won't dim at idle.

Should be decent, especially at that price. The 60W low beam will be a significant draw at idle and low RPM compared to the stock bulb. Thus my suggestion of HID or LED conversion.

I have mine attached to the headlight mounting bracket. But, I have a fairing on my bike and also don't care if parts are visible. Form is secondary to function for me.

Thanks. Guess I'll be getting one. I work nights and live out in the sticks so a decent headlight is almost mandatory. The stock one is pretty pathetic from the little sneaking around the back roads I've done..