Bike Acting Strange

blabla

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
So I just got my bike up and running after giving the carbs a nice clean. However, there is obviously some adjustments that need to be made. Whenever I hit the gas the revs drop a little then go way up and stay up for a while. The throttle is EXTREMELY laggy (in other words). What's the deal? Any ideas? It sounds like it's way too rich to me, but I'm a newbie at this

Which year and model do you have?

What material are your floats made out of? Brass? Plastic? Rubber? Foam?

What did you set your float height to?

1981 XS400.

Floats are made out of whatever the stock bowls are made of.

Float heigh is stock

I need numbers and the exact material. It matters. Some floats are slightly different in the required height and some manuals have the wrong float height printed in them.

So you think it might be a float issue? I'm pretty sure that the stock height is 23mm

It depends on the floats. My earlier '78 runs perfect at 26mm with brass floats.

Your "lower" float height could be the issue, yep.

The "lower" the float height the "later" the float needle closes when the bowls fill up (it's hard to visualize). If the fuel level gets too high you can get major or minor flooding. The rpms dropping and the delay makes me think you're too rich as well.

Thanks man, that makes a lot of sense! and the bike has stock exhaust, and aftermarket UNI pod filters. But if anything those should make it run leaner, not richer, if I am understanding correctly

Have you synced the carbs? Any pics of the bike so we can see what your working with?

No pics yet, but I never actually took the carbs apart, I just cleaned them pretty well with carb cleaner and air compressor. So I assume they are synced correctly

If you never had them apart I would do it. Also get them synced after. A good clean inside and out:wink2: carbs will make all the difference.:thumbsup: