Cafe project so far.

WelderDave

XS400 Addict
Reaction score
Hey everyone, just wanted to share what I’ve got going so far and thought, opinions, and things to watch out for or keep in mind are appreciated. I’m a career welder fabricator but single full time dad so I make do with what I can get ahold of. I also have gone to college for automotive, so theres that.

Got the bike for $400, 11k miles, he said it was running on one cylinder because the main carb was gunned up so he didn’t wanna mess with it.

That’s the background, so far I’ve stripped the bike down, removed the wire harness, added pod filters, breather filter, cleaned the bike frame up, cut the tail of the seat mount off, thoroughly cleaned the carbs, new spark plugs, new oil, got all the electrical components I’ll be needing, electronic 12v regulator suggested by people on here, electronic blinker module for led blinkers, 2.9ah agm battery, deleted starter per one of the threads on here with the rubber expansion plug, made custom mid foot pegs since the left was missing, and I may be forgetting a couple small things, but I also jacked up the original harness to just the basics and wired it up temporarily just to hear it run. The weekend is over or I’d have made the battery box, that will hold all the electronics and the battery, but after that’s done I’ll go through and do the harness officially. The schematics on here were kind of hard to read, I’m fairly good with electronics and wiring from my 3 automotive electrical classes, so I did what I could with some research and diagrams. I may draw up my simplified diagram to post up so you can all see how I did it. Bike doesn’t run yet, I need a new throttle cable since it was old and snapped when removing.

And here are some pictures:

Attachments

• D8BDC105-DF83-406D-9058-51802C3FDBD8.jpeg
    D8BDC105-DF83-406D-9058-51802C3FDBD8.jpeg
    198 KB · Views: 324
  • B31456FC-DE19-4757-B0D0-D21E45704DA1.jpeg
    B31456FC-DE19-4757-B0D0-D21E45704DA1.jpeg