Carb help - Cleaned carb now random fast idle

Riderundead

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Background
Me:
I'm new to carbs. I'm new to motorcycles. I'm not afraid to fix it.

The bike: 81 xs 400 barn find. 6600 miles on the odometer. Completely stock. Did nothing to the engine except a couple of oil changes and fresh gas. (side note: I ditched the vacuum petcock in favor of a manual one that doesn't leak.) Ran ok but lacked top end and didn't run super smooth (subtle backfire) above 4000 rpm. Disassembled carbs and cleaned in ultrasonic cleaner. Lots of crap on mains. Removed brass plugs from mix screws. Reassembled and installed carbs with mix screw at 3ish turns out. Balanced with clear hose and ATF method. Tried to follow tuning guides but never quite feel like I got the tune right because I don't know what I'm doing. After the rebuild the bike runs/ran much better. Was happy to find that the engine would blast past 5000 rpm and beyond with no problem. Bike was happy to sit at 6000 to 7000 rpm and cruz... My test ride ended up going long... 100 miles long.

The Problem