Diagnosis and tips repairing a wrecked 1980 xs 400

Kapats

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Tech info and etc begins 3rd paragraph
I'm so glad i found this site, it seems so helpful I've read through a number of topics thus far and learned a lot.

Onto my problem though, i bought a 1980 400 xs special less than a year ago i found it at an amazing price and absolutely fell in love with it! Then in October i was riding home and two deer ran out rammed the side and the other jumped in front of my bike.

The front forks were bent probably 30 degrees buying a new set isn't a terrible problem to replace but I'm a mainly self taught in the little mechanics i know as far as i know to diagnose there is a problem with the transmission. The transmission is locked and refuses to shift gears (even with some monster torquing down) the gear shift moves but won't move the gears. I've made an attempt to open up the engine although one of the heads was rounded off (not a big problem just a stall).
Any tips on what i should be looking for to be broken when i get into the transmission?
or anything else i should be looking for in general i'd love to get this thing running again.

The gear selector is a little finicky: it really needs the engine to be running to work right, otherwise it takes more effort. Keep downshifting and give it time to reset the ratchet mechanism before doing it again and you will eventually get it into neutral. Like Houghmade mentioned, if the engine is running and it won't shift... that's another story.

The engine won't start hitting the electric start it sounds alright but the wheel in the back does a semi spin and then nothing. Wouldn't want to try to ride it in current condition. The clutch doesn't seem to have any effect on trying to start it the clutch cable grinded pavement but doesn't seem overly damaged
bikepic1.png