DOHC Replacement Headlight

doodsaibot

XS400 Addict
Reaction score
I am searching around for a decent headlight replacement for the maxim. I have found two very good options but I am hung up on which I should get, mainly because I don't know if I want or need the option to have HID bulbs.

The first, is a BOSCH 7" H4 headlight. It's fairly standard but from what I have found, you can upgrade to a HID bulb with this assembly. Don't know if it's worth converting to HID, though. I have never owned or even driven a vehicle with HID lights.

The second, is the HELLA 7" H4 headlight. From what I read, it's also a solid setup. But, it also has a shield inside that would supposedly hinder me from using an HID bulb. It is also slightly less in price. Both lamps seem comparable in quality and they are also both made in Germany.

I am not an expert on this subject so I wanted to ask for some real world accounts from your usage of HID vs. non HID bulbs. Currently, the stock headlight on my bike is scary. The light beam splays out into an odd looking, patchy pattern. It leaves me somewhat guessing what's up ahead. :eek: I ride around in the hill country quite often and it is against their ordinance to have any type of street lights or business signage above X amount of feet so the only illumination I have comes from my bike headlight or other cars headlights.

So, "to HID or not HID?", that is the question.

It appears that the HID on your bike seemed superior to the standard setups. In your write up, you also mentioned it is not too blinding to other motorists. I also like how any of the light that does get dispersed is still in a horizontal pattern instead of blotted out like mine. Well, I think I am going with the BOSCH headlight with HID conversion. Thanks, Jim.