First Build! 1980 xs400 special (question, progress, and help)

Nicolaus

XS400 Member
Reaction score
My father has given me a 1980 Yamaha xs400 recently which has sat in our barn for the past 2 years. He had bought it for about $400 and it did not run. We do not know if anything is wrong with it nor did the seller. (well that is what he said anyways) I am a full time Accounting student and I still live at home. I have ridden motorcycles for 3 or 4 years and recently have fallen in LOVE with cafe racers. So, here I am...trying to figure out what the hell I am trying to do. I will attach pictures as soon as I get them on my computer, but as of now. I will post question as I need and hope people will assist me in any way they can! Money is not really an issue with my build and I am wanting to create something unique, and CLEAN. Thanks ahead of time. I hope to hear from you all!

Last edited:
I made a photobucket account to post all of my pictures. http://s1283.photobucket.com/user/Nico_Savu/library/?sort=3&page=1
Here is a picture of her before I started
null_zps5d8cfe11.jpg

Here is one a little while in..
null_zps1abc6ed0.jpg

Will take a few more pictures of todays progress in a little while.

Stuff I did today! :)
null_zps6d74d265.jpg

null_zps4e249caf.jpg

Here is inside of where I took the chain off.
null_zps2f2d1225.jpg

Is it normally full of gunk goo and dirt/mud?

Now that I have the engine pulled off where should I start with it?

Your push-rod seal is probably leaky; you won't know for sure until you clean ALL of the oil off. Run the bike after that for a bit and see where it is coming from. Oil can run down the push-rod, drip on to the chain, and get flung all over the place.

Most cruisers use 1" handle bars. Most Japanese motorcycles use 7/8" handle bars. When a small bike is converted to 1" handle bars the setup is usually referred to as "over sized."

So, no, you need 7/8" handle bars.