Heated Grips ... Can My Bike Handle Them?

robindean

XS400 Addict
Reaction score
I just ordered these specific grips with the default "High, Low, Off" switch ...

http://www.hotgrips.com/store.php?crn=203&rn=139&action=show_detail

The specs are listed. My alternator is stock.

I already have one power source drawing from the battery ... a standard "cigarette lighter" power output that charges my mobile phone (low voltage) while I use it's GPS.

I've heard others speak of how important it is to keep track of your power draw, so as not to fry your bike's wires/circuits. I very much want to install these grips. I will, at some point, be running the heated grips (on high), the phone's GPS (low voltage charge) as well as the stock elements (lights at night).

Will my bike's stock electrical setup be enough? :shrug:
If not, what steps should I take?

Well, that's around 40 watts. I'm no expert on the charging system of DOHC bikes, but I know I would never try that on my SOHC. A smart phone draws very little power, maybe 2.5 watts, so you can see the big difference. If I wanted to do this, I'd convert all my lights over to LED and run the lowest wattage headlight I could that is safe.

So- I have no definitive answer, but I'd love to know the answer.

Are there LED bulbs that will simply fit in place of my stock bulbs or would I need to go through some elaborate process? Sources?

As always, thanks HoughMade :)

A friend of mine asks ... "Can you find the spec for your electrical system in watts or in amps? That would be a start."
I don't see anything specific in the manual, although I do see something that reads "When performing an Alternator output check, battery voltage on the meter should be 14.5 v with a maximum allowable variation of .3v"

Not sure if that applies but, if anyone knows the specifics, I'd love to have 'em.