Is realy as scary as I read.

Scorpio1963

XS400 Guru
Top Contributor
Reaction score
hey guys I was reading the thread where someone asks if these bikes are safe to ride on the interstate.
Theres some scary stuff in there,being the fact Im just learning how to ride and havent taken my bike on the expresway yet I want to know what you guys think.Im considering getting another bike at sometime in the future but for now I have my xs400 to ride and have to make the best of it.What I read is when riding into the wind on the expressway it realy slows down alot.Im 5`11 220lbs and being the fact these bikes are light am I going to get blown off the road when getting passed by a semi?I have had my bike up to 65mph for a short stretch which scared the crap out of me.Mainly cause there wasnt much room to stop when the road ended.I would have to say in about a 1 mile stretch.I dont want a very heavy bike like a harley either.Im pretty sure if i got another bike I would feel comfortable on a bike up to 700 or 750.Also I dont know this for fact but from what i read these bikes have a top speed of 90mph stock but for how long?Not that Im going to ride it that fast but say I want make a trip on the interstate and want to 75mph for 100 mile trip am I going to be safe or am I better off just using the bike as a comuter bike around town with occasional hiway riding?I also read that rejetting,changing the exaust to a 2 in 1 and a sproket with1 less tooth will help with power.Whats your guys take on this?

My take is that your greatest enemy will be your nervousness.

Work up to it. Try doing one exit to another on a not-so-busy stretch. Let the bike get it's legs, and see what it feels like at 55, 60, 65.

You may eventually find that it's not a comfortable bike for highway riding, depending on your experiences. Other bikes will feel different. My Bandit 1200 was built for long highway stretches (well, except the seat, which put my butt to sleep, but that's another story.)