Kick Starter, Electric Starter, Not going into gear. Help!!!!!

Miltown

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! I'm new to this scene so I have a few questions. I just picked up a 77XS400D. After sitting for 10 years I cleaned the carbs, changed the fluids, and it fired right up! Sounds strong too. The problem is, the push button starter just stopped working. It doesn't even turn the motor over anymore like there's no power even getting to it. Also, my kick starter doesn't work either. It only catches about every 20 kicks. I took the cover off to inspect and everything looks normal to me. Is there a certain "tension" that needs to be on that front spring? Could this have something to do with the clutch too? The clutch has a really hard pull and the bike doesn't go into gear all of the way. The plates look good so I'm pretty baffled by all of this. Any help would be great. Thanks!

Last edited:
Clutch pull could be a couple things, I had the inside lining sucked out of the cable, and wrap itself in and out of the clutch handle, under the rubber cover.

the push button starter just stopped working. It doesn't even turn the motor over anymore like there's no power even getting to it.
Okay This could be a grounding issue. or a fuse issue. its weird after 30 years fuse box crumble, and ground become corroded where it wont work, of coarse the kill switch being on could defeat the start up process. If it isnt clicking, then is the battery ready to be used? Its a really short wire from the battery to the starter relay. Are they connected? Are the connectors looking in good condition?

my kick starter doesn't work either. It only catches about every 20 kicks. I took the cover off to inspect and everything looks normal to me. Is there a certain "tension" that needs to be on that front spring?