My Original xs400 Special

super_usdm

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey All,

I picked up an all original 1981 XS400 Special last month with 1,324 miles. I have intentions to commute to and from work on it and would like to give it a cafe look without going overboard. I don't own a welder, or know how to weld for that matter, so I will be doing what I can to make this bike look the way I want it to without too much custom fabrication.

I took a buddy of mine that has been into motorcycles his whole life to pick up the bike and he was pretty impressed with its condition. I am the third owner. Anyway - on to the pics.

I am very new to bikes so looking forward to reading up and learning a lot from you all. (I owned a dirt bike for about 9 months a couple years ago). Any words of advice will be appreciated. See you around the boards!

Jason

Don't change a thing!!!! With low miles and in very clean original shape I would just leave it. You don't see them like this anymore. If you must do something to it, do it where it doesn't cut or change anything that can't be easily fixed. It looks like the oem petcock will not shut off like it should and a in-line valve was put on. I would rebuild the stock one and put a in-line fuel filter between it and the carb. Welcome to the forum.

I agree with xschris on this. That is a beautiful representation of the machine. If you do ANY mods please make sure they are easily reversible to original state. I am frankly quite jealous of that bike!

Thanks for the welcome and feedback, guys. I have been considering leaving it as-is for the time being for those reasons. The only thing I would really like to change is the handlebars, so it will feel more similar to what I am used to. I also don't care for the rubber bushings that allow for handlebar movement. The stepped seat is growing on me, but I do feel really big on it being so far forward and 6 foot.