Newbie here from Idaho... with a parts xs360

Norman1950

XS400 Addict
Reaction score
Well I just bought myself a basket case xs360 (going to pick it up here shortly). The gentlemen says it is "pretty" much a complete bike minus frame.... yes I know..:wtf:

But for the price I said why the hell not. I enjoy wrenching and searching for parts. The main reason why I wanted to buy this basket case was the rear wheel. I am also over at xs650 with a Santee rigid frame that I am putting a xs650 in with a 23" front wire wheel and wanted an 18" wire wheel for the rear. Hence this bike fit the bill...

After doing some research and finding pictures I am almost liking the mag style on it, if I were to rebuild it. He did say that the engine probably needs to be refreshened up :yikes:.

I know I am crazy for diving in on this basket case, but figure what the heck, I get my wheel I want if all else fails.

Will try to get pictures once I pick up the pieces...

And now I am on the search for a frame for the bike...

Thank you very much. Here are some pictures of the "pieces" I bought.

But stoked that the "froze" motor is not froze at all... the guy was trying to use the kick starter by hand to turn it over. I took out the plugs and took off the stator cover. I was able to put the 17mm wrench on the "crank" bolt and rotate it counter clockwise pretty easy. Next I need to go get a compression tester to see how bad the cylinders are. Also excited that the tank had no major dents and just minor rust on the inside.

Now I might just have to try to find a frame to try to put it together.

What the pieces in picture no. 2 by chance? Thanks

Pic 2 is your rear wheel spacers and the headlight mounting bracket.

welcome and good luck with your basket case it well fits a description of its name:laugh:
So what do you know about the engine is it supposed to run or not?

welcome and good luck with your basket case it well fits a description of its name:laugh: