Obligatory first post!

Sauerkraut

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys been lurking for a while and decided I should finally join the discussion,

Im a 22 year old student currently traveling around southeast Asia, I recently just completed a ride from Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh city on a very small, very slow, very unreliable 100cc Honda Win but as big of a pain in the ass that bike was, I was hooked.

I have been contemplating getting a vintage bike for about a year now and occasionally browsing my local classifieds back home in Canada, a few weeks ago I came across a great deal and had my father go pick this 81 special up for me while im away. This is my first bike however I am not new to wrenching or forums, Ive built a few cars in the past (big VW Audi guy) but decided it was time to try something new, ive learnt a great amount of info from this site already and look forward to contributing!

My plans are to get this thing up to spec and start simplifying anything I can, to make a fun little weekend rider (cafe/brat style). Ive acquired 2 new BS34 carbs that are ready to go on which should have her running half decent.

for interests sake ive attached a picture of my MK4 Jetta and the bike!

Attachments

• unnamed (3).jpg
    unnamed (3).jpg
    166.9 KB · Views: 155
  • unnamed (2).jpg
    unnamed (2).jpg
    160.5 KB · Views: 159
Welcome,

I'm also a VW person, but I stick with Mk3s and older, currently have a Mk1 Jetta with a 16v.

Looks like the bike is ready to go after you get a seat lol.

Does that bike have a 2-1 carb setup using a copper pipe? I looks like a bike that another member from here had a long while back. Looks like the bike has had some "work" done to it.:doh: Welcome to the forum.

Welcome to the site! I'm pretty new as well, but so far it's a great community. Also love the forum interface, it's one of the best I've ever used.