Sipma intro and Maxim build!

sipma02

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello ! I have been sneaking around these forums for a few months now, but I've been able to answer all my questions (and troubleshoot quite a few problems!) just via searching. However, I want a place to document my build and get some advice/critiques, so here I am! I am a sophomore (junior in the fall) in college, live in Minneapolis, MN.

I acquired my first motorcycle last spring - a Honda 250. I kinda knew I was going to like riding and working on motorcycles, and boy was I right!! I got it's for $350 as a mostly running, mostly working bike. Fixed it up and it's the bike I currently ride! Anyway, I love it, but it's a little small. With that said... I came across a 82 Maxim (XS400J if I'm not mistaken) for $100 without keys, title, taken apart and not running! I love stuff like this, and so I bought it up, and here I am working on it ! Actually, this site has saved me already many times, there is lots of good info on it.
This is the Honda. Tank has since been painted silver. Seat is still homemade and pretty rough... Someday, I'll remake it. Other than that, there's some sketchy wiring. I'm learning, that's for sure. I think the Yamaha will be much better.
289836bfcdd240a9aae9e23857dfafdf.jpg

I plan to document my build here. I'm doing it because I want an easy to read record, and also hopefully some critique (whether good or bad). Can't wait to spend my summer makin the yamaha work/look awesome!

Here it is with pretty much all the main parts just teetering on top of it. Sure looks more ready to ride than it is... :') I
5a03b2bc4fa3c5d204c5ac5704ce3e9d.jpg

End goal is a modular street-scrambler. I want to be able to put some bags or something on it for short trips, but also take them off for slimmer looks. hopefully going to make use of that monoshock to have some 'gap' between the top of the rear tire and the bottom of the seat. I really like that look. But first - to get it running :)