What is my piston telling me ?

Philodoxo

without technical skills
Reaction score
Hi

I'm just a simple lawyer with absolutely no knowledge (quite common among lawyers) - not even on the engines.

I have a spare engine that I want to renovate - while I drive around on my XS400. That leaves me with 2 questions, that I hope you can tip me on:

1. Are the pistons so worn that I should Hone cylinder? Watch this short movie to see, what my piston is telling me. Click here

2. Does an engine with engine number 4G5-xxxxxx fit on my 2A2-xxxxxx bike ? They look just alike.

Hope anyone will vaste their time on an answer to me.

They look a little loose, you may want to measure to make sure. All XS400 SOHC motors will interchange in the motor mounts. I believe the XS250 and XS360 will as well...

Ah, a lawyer?

I can tell you exactly what's wrong.

My billable rate is $300 an hour. Please make an appointment with my secretary, and I can then look at your video.

Hi bentwrench

I take it, that the bill is already sent ?:laugh:

Working in public administration for a paltry wage without the ability to send bills to anyone ...... wondering why I chose that line of work :doh:

Well, welcome to another lawyer. I'm in private practice, but I'm just, in the last couple of years, seeing the fruits of my labor. Whoever said it, it seems true: "They don't let you make any real money 'til you are over 40." However, I think I would trade some income for not having to deal with some of the things I currently do.

...and by the way, I will agree that mechanical ability seems rare in lawyers, but I like to think I know a thing or two and I know a few others who can turn a wrench.