Air Screw Replacement

Paralyzed-Poly

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to both the forums and bikes in general. I picked up a 1981 XS 400 Special Heritage back in march and have been fixing it up since. I've come to my last problem before being road ready. Both air screws or pilot jets or idle mix screws (far to many names for them on here) were broken off in the housing. I removed them and I am looking for new ones. I've had no luck online nor at my local yamaha and motorsports shops. Does anyone know where I could fnd a set? They were both larger brass screws that could be adjusted by thumb turning. They sat after the butterfly but before entering the main engine housing. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'll try to get pics up tomorrow as well. Thanks.

Try member xschris; failing that there are complete rebuild kits for the 77-79 on http://www.siriusconinc.com

These older ones may not work though; at some point the xs400 went to a mix screw with a tamper proof cap and o-ring. The older models do not have this cap or any kind of o-ring.

I cannot remember if this fits or not: http://www.mikesxs.net/product/48-5011.html

You can do a search or maybe someone else will chime in.

Last edited:
Post some pics of what you have. Sounds like they are the older 77-79 set of carbs.

The ones on the left are for the 77-79 and the ones on the right are the 80-82:) If yours are the 77-79 and the tips are broken off in the carbs and you could not get them out by just pushing on them, then those carbs are no good. I have heard of people drilling them out but none of them never said it worked.

Last edited:
My screws were the 77-79 style. They were broken off but I was able to get it all out without having to drill them. I'll check the links provided and let you guys know how it goes. Thanks

After 13years owning these things you tend to have a lot of parts, its also like a sickness:laugh: